GOP Lawmaker Not Planning To Seek Reelection

GOP Lawmaker Not Planning To Seek Reelection

( – Kansas GOP Rep. Jake LaTurner has announced he will not seek re-election this year. Writing on Twitter, LaTurner stated that Congress has “taken a toll,” and he wants to spend more time with his family and pursue other avenues. The Republican said he has only one opportunity to see his children grow, but he vowed to see out his full term. Mike Kuckelman, former chair of the Kansas Republican Party, expressed surprise at the announcement, saying most people believed he would successfully compete to return to the House in November.

The Topeka Capital-Journal reported that LaTurner’s unexpected withdrawal leaves both Republicans and Democrats in a tight race for a replacement. With only weeks to go before filing deadlines, the Democrats have no candidate in place, and Eli Woody, a Republican who previously said he would run against LaTurner, withdrew last month after deciding to run for the state legislature instead.

Political science professor Bob Beatty said he expects every lawmaker in the region will give some thought to standing, but noted that the short timeframe advantages those with already established political careers.

Possibilities include Derek Schmidt, the former Kansas Attorney General who has previously said the 2nd District must remain in Republican hands and that he is aware he is considered a contender. LaTurner staffer Jeff Kahrs is also a possibility, The Topeka Capital-Journal reported. Kahrs has a significant political CV and previously served as regional director for the US Department of Health and Human Services during the Trump administration.

State Senator Caryn Tyson ran for the seat in 2018 and came second in a seven-way race. “We are going to take a serious look at running for the seat,” she recently revealed in a text.

According to Ballotpedia, 26 House Representatives are planning to retire from public office. This includes 14 Republicans and 12 Democrats. In the Senate, five Democrats, one Republican, and one Independent have announced their retirements, including Arizona’s former Democrat Krysten Sinema and veteran Republican Mitt Romney of Utah.

Copyright 2024,